top of page

Wk 11 - Activity - My Turn - My Op Art

My Turn - My Op Art

Recently, I faced with lot of stress and depression. I somehow didn't know what I should do in order to escape it. Then I thought about drawing and creating some arts. However, I can only find my peace and relief in black and white color which are basic colors in Op Art. I started thinking about creating one. To me, Op Art is pretty much like an illusion which can be clear to me but not to others. It is a chance for everyone to find and to show their creativity.

I painted this piece for nearly two weeks, and it turned out pretty good (I think).

I first went to a gallery in Dong Nai, Vietnam and asked them whether I could paint in their workshop or not. It turned out that they were totally comfortable with it so I started working on my painting there. Right now, "Moving Forward", my artwork, is now displayed in the hallway of my house. For all of you who are wondering the bold line below my painting, "Nguyen Chieu Bao Quan", it's actually my full name in Vietnamese.

The idea of my painting is that with black and white we can create implied lines that separate the reality and the fantasy. Sometimes they are mixed up and we can't recognize whether we are living in reality or in the fantasy that is created by our mind. However, just leave everything behind, no matter how hard a situation is, we keep "moving forward."

bottom of page